MCVL Announces All-Conference Teams

MCVL Announces All-Conference Teams

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa ( - The Midwest Collegiate Volleyball League announced its All-Conference selections for the 2017 season. Winners are determined by a vote of the head coaches and will be honored on Friday at the MCVL Tournament.

Sixteen student-athletes representing seven institutions make up the 2017 All-MCVL Team. Dominican and Carthage, who each won their respective divisions, led the group with four All-Conference selections, followed by by Marian, Mount St. Joseph and MSOE, who each had two. Greenville and Lakeland were represented by one All-Conference pick.

The eight MCVL First Team selections hail from five schools and include Carthage's Matt Reinsel and Griffin Shields, Dominican's Alex Coyne and Luke Spicer, Greenville's Manuel Benitez, Lakeland's Matt Stolz, Mount St. Joseph's Alex Vohland and MSOE's Quin Krisik. Among this group, five were recognized during the season as Players of the Week, with Vohland earning the nod on two separate occasions.

Representing six schools, these eight student-athletes make up the second team and include Carthage's Cody Bolan and Marc Hansen, Dominican's Michal Kawa and Nathan Timreck, Marian's Cullen Liberski and Jon Smallpage, Mount St. Joseph's Brett Cooper and MSOE's Logan Baerenwald.

All 16 honorees will be recognized on Friday at the 2017 MCVL Tournament, hosted by Dominican University in River Forest, Ill. The Tournament begins at 5 p.m. between Dominican and MSOE and will be followed by the matchup of Carthage and Mount St. Joseph. On Saturday, the winners from Friday's semifinals face off in the title match with an automatic bid to the NCAA Tournament on the line.

2017 MCVL First Team   
Name School Yr. Pos.
Matt Reinsel Carthage So. S
Griffin Shields Carthage Sr. RS
Alex Coyne Dominican Sr. S
Luke Spicer Dominican Jr. RS
Manuel Benitez Greenville So. OH
Matt Stolz Lakeland Sr. OH
Alex Vohland Mount St. Joseph Sr. OH
Quin Krisik MSOE Jr. S
2017 MCVL Second Team
Name School Yr. Pos.
Cody Bolan Carthage Sr. L
Marc Hansen Carthage Sr. OH
Michal Kawa Dominican Sr. OH
Nick Timreck Dominican Jr. MH
Cullen Liberski Marian So. L
Jon Smallpage Marian So. OH
Brett Cooper Mount St. Joseph Sr. MB
Logan Baerenwald MSOE Jr. OH