MCVL Announces All-Conference Teams

MCVL Announces All-Conference Teams

CEDAR RAPIDS, Iowa ( - The Midwest Collegiate Volleyball League announced its All-Conference selections for the 2018 season. Winners are determined by a vote of the head coaches following the conclusion of the regular season.

Sixteen student-athletes representing eight institutions make up the 2018 All-MCVL Team. As regular season champions, North Central earned four All-Conference selections, including three on the first team in Jake Braceros, Brendan Crawford and Michael Trunzo. The trio played a major role in the Cardinals' run to their first MCVL Regular Season Championship in program history in addition to being the first players to earn All-Conference honors.

Joining North Central with four All-MCVL picks was Carthage. Zach Lillig, Matt Reinsel and Evan Walsh all garnered first team selections while Kelvin Rivera locked up a second team pick. Reinsel becomes a three-time All-Conference selection.

Mount St. Joseph's Andrew Chisholm locked up his first All-Conference honor as did Zach Rothstein of Fontbonne. For Rothstein, he became the first All-MCVL pick in program history and third player in league history to win the Player of the Week award three times in the same season.

The All-MCVL First Team consisted of 15 Player of the Week winners, including Chisholm and Rothstein who won the weekly honor on three separate occasions.

Representing six schools, these eight student-athletes make up the second team and include Carthage's Kelvin Rivera, North Central's Bozhidar Kolev, Loras' Alfredo Lopez and Dylan Ross, Augustana's Matthew Schiferl, Mount St. Joseph's Nathan Herdeman, Greenville's Johnny Milabu and Adrian's Noah Marcinkowski.

First Team
Zach Lillig - Carthage - Senior
Matt Reinsel - Carthage - Senior
Evan Walsh - Carthage - Senior
Zach Rothstein - Fontbonne - Sophomore
Andrew Chisholm - Mount St. Joseph - Senior
Jake Braceros - North Central - Junior
Brendan Crawford - North Central - Sophomore
Michael Trunzo - North Central - Sophomore

Second Team
Noah Marcinkowski - Adrian - Sophomore
Matthew Schiferl - Augustana - Freshman
Kelvin Rivera - Carthage - Freshman
Johnny Milabu - Greenville - Junior
Alfredo Lopez - Loras - Junior
Dylan Ross - Loras - Senior
Nathan Herdeman - Mount St. Joseph - Senior
Bozhidar Kolev - North Central - Junior